Salvia Divinorum Strain's

Salvia Divinorum Mass Distribution Project.

Salvia Divinorum Strain's

Postby childishaztec » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:48 pm

Hi well I'm new here, 8-)

But as I was looking around, I heard other members talking about Strains.

So I was wondering what are they?(I'm thinking they are different types of S.D. plants or mixed S.D. plant with another plant)

And how are they different?

So far I heard about the "Blosser Strain" and " Wasson & Hoffman Strain " and was wondering what other types of Salvia Divinorum Strains are there? (so yeah if you know of anymore please post them here along with why its a new strain/different)

thank you for your time.
childishaztec

Re: Salvia Divinorum Strain's

Postby unstable » Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:22 pm

Here is some good information from Siebert's site:

http://www.sagewisdom.org/clones.html

I'm pretty new to horticulture myself, but what I gather is that each "strain" the result of sexual reproduction of the plants via pollination. Much like human males have sperm and females have an egg that is fertilized by the sperm, some plants produce male and female flowers that require pollination. The male flowers release pollen that needs to reach the female pistil...sometimes this is done by the wind, other times by bees or other insects...it can also be done purposely by humans using an artists paintbrush. The result of a successful union is fruit which bears seeds that has the traits and genetic makeup of the two parents (if cross pollinated / 2 different plants are involved). I guess it's also possible for a single plant to pollinate itself, whereby certain flowers are male and other flowers are female.

With cross pollination, one can selectively BREED plants that have desireable traits, much like dogs are bred.